How far can you go?

Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go

Risk takers, they say, are the ones destined to succeed–and we all wish we could be just like them. Anyone would grab that opportunity to succeed. However sometimes, no matter how much we want to become successful, there are circumstances that hold us back.

Imagine the door of opportunity opening in front of you, presenting something that you have been waiting to happen. Reach inside your heart and think of it. Is it a chance to have a well-paying career, to run a business, to study? Do you want to move on from the life you are living now?

But then you find that you cannot even begin to move a foot to reach that opportunity. You think twice about moving because you’ll be taking big risks. Reaching that door would mean you would have to spend less hours with your family… or perhaps you couldn’t leave someone behind… or you don’t have the resources to start a business. You’re afraid that you wouldn’t be able to do it.

When I read the words from T.S. Eliot, it felt like being hit by a boulder. It struck me because there had been too many times in my life when the door of opportunity had opened for me yet I didn’t grab the chance to walk through it because of circumstances beyond my control. A number of times I felt trapped in a vicious cycle where I am always at the bottom and I do not have the means to reach the top.

So, I stare at that door close, praying that it opens for me again.

But then what would I do next time?

Then one morning, I came upon this simple reminder from a complete stranger:

“Let GOD do the worrying for you.”

Think about it. Doesn’t that suddenly put a period where question marks used to be? Don’t you feel a surge of energy, a willingness to try once again?

This time, you would do it. You’ve always known that you have to, that it’s the right thing to do. It’s not just for you. It’s for your family, for friends, for people that you haven’t met yet but will become part of your life.

So this time, we are going to task the risk. Not only will we wait for another door to open, we’re going find doors of opportunities. We’ll confidently walk through them. We’re more than willing to find out how far we can go.

So, are you ready?

***JHAJR***

